What time is the Heisman Trophy presentation tonight? 2020 Heisman candidates and more

The Heisman Trophy was first awarded in 1935, and the 2020 presentation will be the 86th time that the trophy has been presented. What time is the 2020 Heisman Trophy presentation, what channel is it on, and who are the 2020 candidates?

What time is the Heisman Trophy presentation tonight?

  • Start time: 7 PM ET
  • Channel: ESPN

2020 Heisman Trophy candidates

On December 24th, four finalists were named for the 2020 Heisman Trophy presentation. Who are the four finalists, and which other candidates just missed out on being named finalists?

Candidates who made the top 10 but are not finalists

10) Kyle Pitts – Florida Tight End

9) Ian Book – Notre Dame Quarterback

8) Zach Wilson – BYU Quarterback

7) Justin Fields – Ohio State Quarterback

6) Breece Hall – Iowa State Running Back

5) Najee Harris – Alabama Running Back

Who are the four finalists for the Heisman Trophy?

Mac Jones – Alabama Crimson Tide Quarterback

If Mac Jones was to leave the 2020 Heisman Trophy presentation with the award, he would be the first Alabama quarterback to ever take it home. Two Alabama running backs have previously won the award, Mark Ingram and Derrick Henry.

Related | Farabaugh’s 4-round 2021 NFL Mock Draft

The junior quarterback has played 12 games in 2020. In those games, he has completed 77 percent of his 357 pass attempts for 4036 yards. Additionally, Jones has thrown 36 touchdowns, compared to just four interceptions. The 2020 season has seen Jones lead his Alabama team to the National Championship Game.

Kyle Trask – Florida Gators Quarterback

Kyle Trask has an opportunity to be the first Florida QB to win the Heisman Trophy since Tim Tebow won the award in 2007. Of the four candidates, Trask comes from the school which has won the Heisman the most times, three.

Trask has also been superb in 2020. He has completed 68.9 percent of his passes in his 12 games. In those 12 games, Trask managed 4283 passing yards, 43 touchdowns, and eight interceptions. Trask also added three rushing touchdowns.

During this season, Trask became the first SEC player to throw four or more touchdown passes in his first six games. He is also the only SEC player to throw at least three touchdowns in nine consecutive games.

Trask has already made clear his intention to enter the NFL by declaring for the 2021 NFL Draft.

Trevor Lawrence – Clemson Tigers Quarterback

If quarterback Trevor Lawrence were to win the Heisman Trophy in the 2020 presentation of the award, he would be the first player from Clemson to do so.

Junior quarterback Lawrence has not had a statistical season to rival Trask and Jones. Lawrence completed 69.2 percent of his passes for 3153 yards. He has thrown 34 touchdowns and five interceptions. Lawrence was unable to stop Clemson from being eliminated from the College Football Playoff. The Tigers lost to the Ohio State Buckeyes on January 1st.

Lawrence, who has yet to declare for the draft, has had a better career than either of his two quarterback rivals. Lawrence has thrown for nearly 11000 yards, with 90 touchdowns and 17 interceptions. He also became the first QB ever to win three ACC Championship Games.

DeVonta Smith – Alabama Crimson Tide Wide Receiver

Smith stands out among the 2020 Heisman Trophy candidates because he would be only the fourth wide receiver to win the Heisman. The last receiver to take home the award was Desmond Howard in 1991, with Tim Brown in 1987, and Johnny Rodgers in 1972.

As a senior, Smith has put together an incredible season. The fourth-year player posted 105 receptions for 1641 receiving yards, 20 touchdowns. He added another touchdown on four carries in the run game. Additionally, over the course of the past two seasons, Smith has 173 receptions for 2897 receiving yards and 35 total touchdowns.

How does Heisman voting work?

Originally, only players east of the Mississippi were eligible to win the award. However, since 1936 all players are eligible to win the award.

In 2020, 927 votes will decide who receives the Heisman Trophy when the presentation is done. 870 of those votes are held by members of the media. 56 are made by the living previous Heisman winners. There is also one overall fan vote, presented by Nissan.

The media and former winners’ votes are positional votes. Each voter selects three players ranks them in order from one to three. A first-place vote is worth three points, second-place votes are worth two, and third-place votes are worth one. However, voters must make three selections and cannot make any duplicate selections. The candidate with the most votes wins the Heisman.

Checkout latest world news below links :
World News || Latest News || U.S. News

Help us to become independent in PANDEMIC COVID-19. Contribute to diligent Authors.

[charitable_donation_form campaign_id=57167]

Source link

Back to top button
SoundCloud To Mp3