NASCAR at Daytona live race updates, results, highlights from Coke Zero Sugar 400

NASCAR is getting what it wanted when it scheduled the summer Daytona race as the 2020 regular-season finale for the Cup Series. Multiple drivers have chances to clinch one of the three open playoff spots heading into a Saturday night race at one of motorsports’ most unpredictable tracks.

Saturday night’s Coke Zero Sugar 400 at Daytona International Speedway will set the 16-driver field for NASCAR’s 10-race playoff scheduled to start next week. Clint Bowyer, Matt DiBenedetto and William Byron entered the weekend in the last three playoff positions based on points standings, but Jimmie Johnson and Erik Jones were not far behind.

Daytona 500 winner Denny Hamlin was considered the favorite to win Saturday night’s race with Joey Logano and Kevin Harvick close behind on the odds board. Of course, those odds don’t mean much in a superspeedway race when simply finishing is the first priority for all 40 drivers.

Sporting News is tracking live race updates and lap-by-lap highlights from Saturday’s NASCAR race at Daytona. Follow below for complete results from the Coke Zero Sugar 400.

MORE: Watch Saturday night’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at Daytona live race updates, highlights from Coke Zero Sugar 400

NASCAR is offering a free live stream of Denny Hamlin’s in-car camera throughout Saturday night’s Daytona race. Below is that stream:

Live NASCAR playoff bubble positions as they run:

Pos. Driver +/-
14. Clint Bowyer (Clinched)
15. Matt DiBenedetto +3
16. William Byron +2
17. Jimmie Johnson -2

Live race updates:

8:19 p.m. ET: Denny Hamlin is penalized for not lining up properly coming to pit road. He must restart from the back of the pack.

8:12 p.m. ET: Joey Logano wins Stage 1. Jimmie Johnson (fifth) and William Byron (seventh) get some important stage points.

7:52 p.m. ET: Green flag. Restart on Lap 25. William Byron keeps the lead with teammate Alex Bowman in tow.

7:46 p.m. ET: The competition caution arrives after 20 green flag laps. William Byron leads with his Hendrick Motorsports teammate Alex Bowman in second.

7:41 p.m. ET: Kevin Harvick has to bail from the front of the pack. He has some debris on his grill and is running too hot.

7:35 p.m. ET: JJ Yeley loses power, but he gets off the track in time to avoid a caution. He is later ruled out with an engine loss and will finish the race last.

7:30 p.m. ET: Green flag. The Coke Zero Sugar 400 at Daytona is underway. Joey Logano pushes Kevin Harvick to the initial lead before Martin Truex Jr. and Brad Keselowski bring the top line even with the bottom line.

7:18 p.m. ET: Engines fired for the Coke Zero Sugar 400 at Daytona.

7:10 p.m. ET: NASCAR announces Clint Bowyer must start the race from the back of the pack because of unapproved prerace adjustments.

5:55 p.m. ET: NASCAR announces Austin Dillon will start the race from the back of the pack after his team failed prerace tech inspection twice.

NASCAR at Daytona starting lineup

Here is the full starting lineup for Saturday night’s NASCAR race at Daytona:

Pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
2 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
4 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
5 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
6 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
7 Jimmie Johnson 48 Hendrick Motorsports
8 Alex Bowman 88 Hendrick Motorsports
9 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
10 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
11 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
13 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
14 Clint Bowyer 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
15 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
16 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
17 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
18 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
19 Matt Kenseth 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
20 Erik Jones 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
21 Bubba Wallace 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
22 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
23 Christopher Bell 95 Leavine Family Racing
24 John Hunter Nemechek 38 Front Row Motorsports
25 Corey LaJoie 32 GoFas Racing
26 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
27 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
28 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
29 Ty Dillon 13 Germain Racing
30 Daniel Suarez 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
31 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
32 Brennan Poole 15 Premium Motorsports
33 JJ Yeley 27 Rick Ware Racing
34 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
35 Timmy Hill 66 Motorsports Business Management
36 Ross Chastain 77 Spire Motorsports
37 Joey Gase 53 Rick Ware Racing
38 James Davison 51 Petty Ware Racing
39 Josh Bilicki 7 Tommy Baldwin Racing
40 Brendan Gaughan 62 Beard Motorsports

Checkout latest world news below links :
World News || Latest News || U.S. News

Source link

Back to top button
SoundCloud To Mp3