United Kingdom

All travel red list countries – and the rules you have to follow

The government has made yet another UK travel announcement, with several countries being added to the red list

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

Changing travel rules: What you need to know

The latest government travel announcement will come into effect from 4am on Sunday, August 8.

Changes will be made to the current traffic light system, including the green, amber and red list.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said: “We are committed to opening up international travel safely, taking advantage of the gains we’ve made through our successful vaccination programme, helping connect families, friends and businesses around the world.

“While we must continue to be cautious, today’s changes reopen a range of different holiday destinations across the globe, which is good news for both the sector and travelling public.”

As part of the government’s latest update, four countries will move from the red to amber list – India, Bahrain, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates.

Mexico will be added to the red list


Getty Images/iStockphoto)

Meanwhile, Mexico, Georgia and the French overseas territories of Réunion and Mayotte are joining the red list.

Spain has avoided the red list, despite growing concerns about the Delta Covid-19 variant, and will remain amber.

In addition to the change in the traffic light system, the government has also raised the price of hotel quarantine.

From August 12, the price of a quarantine hotel for a single adult will be raised from £1,750 to £2,285.

Full list of red list countries:

Arrivals from red list countries have to stay at a government-approved hotel for 10 days


Getty Images)

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bahrain – Will move to amber list on Sunday, August 8
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Congo (Democratic Republic)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini

  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Georgia – Currently on amber list, moves to red list on Sunday, August 8
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • India – Will move to amber list on Sunday, August 8
  • Indonesia
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mayotte – Currently on amber list, will move to red list on Sunday, August 8
  • Mexico – Currently on amber list, will move to red list on Sunday, August 8
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar – Will move to amber list on Sunday, August 8
  • Réunion – Currently on amber list, will move to red list on Sunday, August 8

  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE) – Will move to amber list on Sunday, August 8
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

What are the rules for travelling to red list countries?

You shouldn’t travel to red list countries for a holiday


AFP via Getty Images)

Government advice states that you “should not travel to red list countries or territories” for holidays.

If you have to travel there, you will need to pay for a 10-day stay at a government-managed quarantine hotel when you return.

This currently costs £1,750, but it will increase to £2,285 for a single adult and £1,430 for a second adult from August 12.

You will also need to take a pre-departure Covid-19 test, although children under 10 are exempt.

In diction you will also have to take PCR tests on day two and eight when you return.

This needs to be booked before you arrive in England.

You also need to fill out a passenger locator form.

You could be fined up to £10,000, imprisoned for up to 10 years, or both, for failing to provide accurate details about the countries you have visited in the 10 days before arriving in the UK.

If you break the quarantine rules you may face a penalty for up to £10,000.

You need to follow separate advice if you arrive in Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland.

Checkout latest world news below links :
World News || Latest News || U.S. News

Source link

Back to top button
SoundCloud To Mp3